Orlando Gas Prices

Its always been known that gas prices in Orlando has always been cheaper, at least when compared to my hometown-Daytona Beach. So one day, I asked myself why is that? I looked into it and found several theories, but no concrete evidence support any of it. I will only list two theories. The first one being competition and the second one as proximity to oil refineries. The first one states that Orlando has more local companies and city ordinances to protect the little guys. By having all these local companies, there is more competition. Instead of having governmentally-owned companies that don’t need to fear being outted. Competition drives prices down.

The second theory is the proximity to oil refineries, by having a local refinery–it would cut down on overhead costs for the people living near it. But I have found that this theory is kind of flawed. Many people commented that proximity doesn’t always mean that it would cost less to the residents in the area.

So there you have it! The best answer for why Orlando always have lower gas prices is because its city laws protects competition, or maybe legislatures don’t really regulate how low gas prices can drop down to. I’m sure that there are many factors. Why price gouging occurs in other cities, and why there are lower prices in others. I hope the government can see that competition can only help us and in that affect would not give handouts to those failing car companies. I see it as that they have had their chance. Other companies should take a lesson out of this economic downfall, maybe to develop a better model. Although it be expensive at the beginning, it would grow 10-20x more effective and profitable later down the road. Going for the cheaper option at the beginning, doesn’t usually benefit in the end. That can be said for a lot of things.

I like these two songs recently:

Lady Gaga- Just Dance

It has a good beat, in a repetitive way. Its the kind of music that makes u want to turn it up and move around in your car. In a none thinking way.

Jason Mraz- I’m yours

I always love traveling videos, plus he seems very carefree.

One thought on “Orlando Gas Prices

Leave a comment